Bizarre Ruminations: On XKCD, A Webcomic of Romance, Sarcasm, Math and Language

Image

Just the other week, my brother saw me browsing XKCD and – being the hipster (in denial) that he is – proclaimed, “it isn’t as good as it used to be.”

Honestly, I don’t think anyone would have been saying anything of the sort if it were after the awe-inspiring “Click and Drag” comic.

Image

(I found this adventuring right)

However, I believe this is because of an expectation that nobody can continue making creative and thought-provoking content regularly for a long amount of time. I hear quite a few Content Creaters on YouTube talk about struggling with this as well. They say that sticking to a schedule turns their creativity dry and forces them to create things of which they aren’t necessarily proud. I don’t think that XKCD feels like this at all. There are still absolute gems in the mix and it constantly (even for a short moment within a day) teaches me to think differently or to laugh at the way I react within the world.

I think that story telling is best when it achieves this. Be it a web comic or a science fiction story, I enjoy writing most when it reveals ourselves in an exciting way.

(Also, I’m really proud when I get the physics jokes.)

_______________________________________________________________________________________
Editor: Holly Duffy

Leave a Reply

